Day 81: Midnight in Paris

March 22: Stranded
You’re stranded in a foreign city for a day with no money and no friends. Where do you go; what do you do?

So, here I am, stuck in Paris, broke and no one to talk too. What would I do? I would walk, I would sit, I would surround myself with a city that is so alive in history. Hopefully even though I am broke and have no friends on this trip, I at least brought some paper and a pen, or maybe a laptop. I would hope I would bring something to take down my thoughts from the day and night. I would just submerge myself in my surroundings and hope to blend in as best a non-French speaking American could in Paris. If I was lucky and Woody Allen was directing my day in Paris, hopefully a car would stop by and transform me to a bar where I would share drinks with Ernest Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald. Listen to Pablo Picasso speak, even though I might not quite understand all that he says. Or even let Gertrude Stein look over some of my meager writings. But even if not of that happened, and I was just left with my own wits on the streets of Paris, I think I could manage.

Leave a Reply

