Day 80: Just another page

March 21: Bedtime stories
What was your favorite book as a child? Did it influence the person you are now?

When I was growing up, I read a lot. They gave points for reading certain books, and the higher the reading level, the more points you got. After you read the book, you had to take a test to prove you read and it understood what you read. Sadly, I was such a points junkie I would breeze through the books and then take the tests multiple times until I finally passed. I did not really start getting into fully reading and digesting a book until around junior year of high school and even then, it was a rare occurrence when that did happen. For the most part I kept up with my read fast, cliff note, barely pass method, and it worked. Once I hit college I began to really enjoy reading, so much so, that I now own far more books than I could ever imagine reading. But I hope to get close one day to reading them all. Trying to remember back to the first book that impacted my life is difficult, but I think it would have to be Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls. I read it in fifth grade. My teacher actually read parts of it to the class. Now, as I try to remember exactly how it changed my life, and what it was about, I keep drawing a blank. I remember a boy and two hunting dogs and a coming of age tell. But outside of that, I got nothing. I should go back and read it again sometime. It should be a pretty short read.

Leave a Reply

