Day 58: My Broken Record

February 27: Comedy of errors
Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” Write about a time everything did – fiction encouraged here, too! Bonus assignment: do you keep a notebook next to your bed? Good. Tomorrow morning, jot down the first thought you have upon waking, whether or not it’s coherent.

I could say this post. I feel like a broken record. I sit down and try to write on a prompt. A different one each day. I think, I start typing, I erase. Nothing seems to sound good. Nothing seems to flow. It seems now matter how hard I try, these prompts are just to uninspiring to my creative process. My creativity is a little on the low side to begin with. My imagination has never really been one of my strong suits. I wish I was better at coming up with stories, ideas, these grand wild rides across unknown worlds, traveling with companions from other galaxies. But alas, I cannot. They say writers should write what they know, but there was no way George Lucas once knew a Jedi with a dark past, that would one day be killed by his son. That was an entire world he created, in his head and then on paper to the big screen. The same could be said of Lewis, Tolkien, or even Rowling. My creativity has always came in the form of real life, real stories, real history. Real in the sense that it could actually be real, not that it really happened to me. I create characters that could be the girl next door, or the guy just down the street. I try to let my imagination run a muck but all I am left with is real world crap no one would ever want to read. People want to be transported into realms that excite them, scare them and put real world issues far from their thought.

Leave a Reply

