Day 48: Help me Obi-Wan Kenobi, you’re my only hope.

February 17: Mentor
Have you ever had a mentor? What was the greatest lesson you learned from him or her?

Mentor is defined as “an experienced and trusted adviser.” I have people in my life I turn to in certain situations. Professors I speak to about my future in academia, or non-future I should say. Colleagues I discuss current technology trends with and how to progress my career. Even friends I rely on for heartfelt advice about life. But one person that I rely on more than any other? No. If I really looked at the bigger moments in my life when I had a decision to make, I turn to mentors that speak to me without saying a word. When faced with big decisions I tend to trust my advising into whichever book I am currently reading. Other times I go back to the classics in order to revitalize my senses and get back on the track I want to be on.

Whether I am seeking love advice from Darcy or looking for my next great adventure from Holmes, I lose myself into the characters of the story. I escape, if only for a few hundred pages I escape. I find solace in reading about the struggles of overcoming your pride and forgiving for love. About how setting out on grand adventures are fun, but they are even better with friends by your side. How excessive things can be fun, but surrounding yourself with strangers at lavish parties wont feel the void of a broken heart. Most importantly from my “mentors” if you will, I slowly keep finding a voice, my voice. A voice that matters. A voice that deserves to be heard. My life may not be any more extraordinary than the next persons, but that does not mean it is any less deserving of being told. If I have taken anything from my mentors it is that. Every story deserves the chance to be told if told properly.

Sure, I have friends, colleagues and professors I seek advice from. But more than that, I have a thousand and one characters at my disposal each going through their own struggles that I can turn to any hour, any moment, any day. All I have to do is open the book and read.

Leave a Reply

