Day 41: I learned that how?

February 10: Teachable moment

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

Well, this depends? What am I learning? How to dance or maybe cook a dish? Speak a new language? I need context for what new skill I will be learning, that will determine how I wish to be taught said skill. Cook a dish, I want to read the recipe. I do not like watching other people cook nor do I want them standing over my shoulder telling me what to do. Dancing though, I would prefer to just try it even if I do have two left feet. Having someone there to instruct me would come in handy because they would know when I make a mistake or should be doing something different. Speak a language though would be easier if I watched someone else do it. Even better would be if they could do it with me and instruct me on how to properly say certain words and phrases. I learn somethings better other ways than others. It truly depends on the skill I am trying to acquire.

Leave a Reply

