A book with no names

A current project of mine has taken off with relative ease. My main character is developing well and the words seem to be flowing building up a good back story for him. One main flaw, only three characters have names, out of a total seven characters I have introduced thus far, and the three named characters have yet to even play a major role. Only one of them really has that potential. The main character is still UN-originally called “GUY”… I want the character to develop and have a real feel for them before I put a name to them. I realize I am being super picky over such trivial information. Should the name really matter? Can you write an entire story without naming a majority of your characters? I think I am about to find out…

3 thoughts on “A book with no names

  1. I think names really matter in a story. Right now I’m reading An Abundance of Katherines about a guy who only dates girls named Katherine. For example, in Divergent, the main character changes her name from Beatrice to Tris. Such a small thing as changing the name of the character shows a change of alliance as well in that novel. One will surely come to you soon 🙂

  2. Good luck with the name search. I have a friend who is also a writer and she says her characters do weird crap like this to her all the time. Maybe the right name will come to you when you’ve seen your characters in action. I’m glad to hear your writing is going so well!

Leave a Reply

