Day 27: Sliced Bread is Better Than Me

January 27: Sliced bread
Most of us have heard the saying, “That’s the best thing since sliced bread!” What do you think is actually the best thing since sliced bread?

Best thing since sliced bread? The sliced bread machine was invented in 1928, over 80 years ago. 80 years of inventions to be considered. Here are a few of my favorites:

1936
Parker Brothers introduces Monopoly ® after purchasing the rights from Charles Darrow.

1939
Luther George Simjian patents an early and not-so-successful prototype of an ATM.

1946
Jacques Heim and Louis Reard invent the bikini, named after the Bikini Atoll in the Marshall
Islands, the site of the first atomic bomb testing.

1949
Commercial cake mix is invented.

1968
Roy Jacuzzi invents the first self-contained, fully integrated whirlpool bath by incorporating jets into the sides of the tub.

1979
Sony introduces the Walkman, a commercial wearable cassette player. Later products would include Music CD-players.

1990
Hubble Space Telescope is launched. Hubble’s position above the atmosphere gives it a view of the universe far surpassing ground-based telescopes. It has beamed hundreds of thousands of images back to Earth, shedding light on many mysteries of astronomy. Its has helped determine the universe’s age, the identity of quasars, and the existence of dark energy.

So there are some of my favorite inventions, obviously there are others. Computers, iPods and all things Apple. As much as I do love me some Apple products, I think the greatest invention since sliced bread would have to be me. Lets just be honest here, I am smart, talented and one of a kind. I am truly unique, for there will be no one exactly like me ever again, and there had been no one exactly like me before I became.

What makes me the best? Why I do, obviously. I think unlike anyone else thinks on the planet. Sure, I share similarities with other people. We all do. However, something about myself is uniquely mine and no one can take that from me. When I look at the world, I see it much differently than my neighbor. Or anyone. I’m caring, take others into consideration more than myself sometimes and I can cook. I’m a pretty good cook actually, give me a recipe and I can make it, change it and it still tastes delicious.

That is a part of what makes me the best invention since sliced bread. It is what makes us all the greatest invention since sliced bread, life. Not just life, the fact that we breathe on a daily basis, but what makes us the greatest is, living. We choose to live a life that is going to kick us, knock us on the ground, and do everything it can to make us miserable. Yet we move on, we pick ourselves up, sometimes even picking up a friend or complete stranger as well. We are born and raised knowing that life will be difficult, that we will be forced to make decisions we would rather not make, yet from that first moment, we persevere onward.

Leave a Reply

