Day 20: Breaking the Law

January 20: Breaking the Law

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillow).  were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

The last time I broke the law was the best thing that could have happened to me at that moment in my life. I was going down a path that would not have ended too pretty.  My life was becoming more than I felt like I could handle.  Most moments felt as though I would never make a right decision.  One bad choice seemed to lead to another until I felt as though there was no way out.  I knew I needed to change, but never really made an effort to until I got in trouble.  It was from that experience onward that I felt as though something needed to be done.  I cut back on a lot of things in my life, cut some people and places out as well.  I made the decision that if life was going to get tough with me, I was going to fight back.  I needed to fight back to prove to myself I was strong enough.

I am still fighting back to this day.  Some fights I win, others I find myself on the ground, picking myself up trying to learn just how I got there and making sure I don’t end up back there.  One must learn to walk before they can run, right?  When I got to college and got on my own two feet I started running as fast as I could, and I fell, a lot.  Instead of getting up and figuring out why I fell I would start running as fast as I could again, away from my last mistake.  Breaking the rule and getting caught made me realize I needed to slow down.  I was letting it all blow by me so quickly that I could not breathe in everything I was experiencing.  Something just clicked and I knew that I needed to make changes in my life.  Graduation was not very far away and I was far from prepared.  No one really is prepared for what life has in store after graduation, whether it be after high school or college.  I was lost, wondering about where my life was headed and wanderlusting for a better life without putting the effort to achieve it. I just wanted it there with no work required.  I felt like life owed me that much, it owed it to me.  Very quickly I learned that life does not owe anything to anyone.  The quicker I realized that, the quicker I began to fight back and make the effort to change.

That day completely changed my life for the better and I have been fighting the good fight ever since.  Even when life becomes overwhelming all you can do is fight back.  That is all any of us can do.

Leave a Reply

