Day 12: Take two

January 12: Take two

Run outside. Take a picture of the first thing you see. Run inside. Take a picture of the second thing you see. Write about the connection between these two random objects, people, or scenes.

Outside:

20140112-141750.jpg

Inside:

20140112-141818.jpg

So, maybe I cheated. I kept my eyes closed until I knew I would be looking at what I wanted to capture outside. Walking out the door at the coffee shop I frequent, I immediately looked up to snap their sign. Upon returning inside I sat down, looking out into the crowd, then down to the table in front of me. Capturing my own items in front of me. These two pictures are connected in more ways then most might see.

Of course the first is of a coffee shop, the second being a drink from the coffee shop. But this is not any ordinary coffee shop. This coffee joint kept me sane throughout my college days. When the semester would start to bog me down, I would just come here. Most of the time alone, but I never stayed alone for very long. Friendly strangers were always willing to sit and share for awhile. We would discuss the weather, recent movies, but especially what books had been read lately. Some conversations would be nothing more than a passing hello, others in depth on the morality of Hell or why people even exist in the first place.

Other times here, I would sit quietly alone. Listening, observing. Taking in how beautiful it was to see two strangers meet, talk, maybe even fall in love. I have witnessed many first dates here. Even had one or two myself. Nothing sets the nerves of a first encounter like a cup of freshly brewed tea or coffee. When two people sit and play twenty questions, trying to share a glimpse into their life without scaring off the person sitting across from them. Some succeeding better than others. I did meet my current girlfriend, almost a year ago, for coffee and a study session. She says it was not that great of a first impression. She is right, I did not really talk to her. I didn’t have to. I just sat there, quietly watching her do some homework for her Japanese class. Just watching her, I knew that if I opened my mouth I would screw things up. I built that first encounter around small talk. Managed to peek her interest enough to get her to agree to an actual date. The rest as of now, is history. Ten months together today.

These two pictures represent the outside and inside of a local coffee shop. But they also represent a place were dreams are formed, friendships are made, and love first begins. Nostalgia at its finest. Nothing keeps a man saner than a fresh cup of coffee and thoughtful conversations.

Leave a Reply

