Day 9: 1984

January 9: 1984

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

I have actually thought about this quite often. I feel like a better title for the prompt would be No Exit. No Exit is a 1944 existentialist French play by Jean-Paul Sartre. I would highly recommend reading it. It has its tough parts to make through, but well worth it. I do not want to give away too much, but 3 individuals all die, and go to Hell. This Hell however is not your typical fire and brimstone. But after only twenty pages or so, it becomes clear that each individual is in a very personal form of Hell. Now that the book review is over, my greatest fear? Fears, I have plenty of. Not going to share them all, but I guess for the sake of the blog I must. But what exactly is my greatest fear? If I was stuck in a room, who, or what would I be in there with?

Maybe a version of me that was much older, telling me I failed at so much throughout my life. A failure? Maybe failing is my greatest fear? No, too cliche. I have failed so many times, I don’t really fear failing any more. Unless it is failing as a husband or father. That does still scare me a little. But I think my parents gave me enough of a grasp I wont fail completely at either.

My greatest fear? Being locked in a room with myself. Now that’s cliche if I ever heard one. But it is true. Taking a good hard look at myself, that would scare me. I would be sitting there, picking myself apart. My flaws, my short comings, all the things I try to hide from everyone else. But sadly, I can’t hide them from myself. As much as I try too. I do my best to not let anyone in on my flaws, but sometimes I can’t help it.

So there it is, sad but true, and such the cliche. But my greatest fear, would be being locked in a room with myself.

Leave a Reply

