Movie vs Book: The Mortal Instruments City of Bones

*WARNING SPOILERS*

My girlfriend and I recently watched The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones.  I had not read the book prior to seeing the film.  This is weird.  I usually, no I always read the book before it is turned into a movie.  Or at least before I watch the movie.  The main exception being Harry Potter.  I watched all the movies up to 7.1 before I read the books.  I was dumb.  And missed so much.  Only reaffirming that the books, are indeed almost always better than the movies.  Why should Mortal Instruments be any different?  But I did not have any interest in reading this series.  The movie however, looked promising so I thought I would give it a go.  The movie was good.  It had typical teenage cliches and moments that left me a few IQ points lower then when I began.  But that is most teen movies these days, it seems like.

After the movie, I thought overall I was impressed. The movie peaked my historical interest. I love anything with a background that involves history. A group of individuals that have been fighting demons for centuries. Angels, demons, interest peaked again. The story line also contains vampires, werewolves and fairies. As well as the typical love triangle. There is always a love triangle these days in movies. Oh well. Eh, interest not really peaked, but it was worked into the story well, so I will allow it. An evil villain in the form of Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Ya, he’s pretty evil looking. So, I felt like if the movie was not that bad, then maybe I should give the book a try.

The book killed the movie and any movies that will follow. The book was pretty good. More detail, better detail. But there were great differences in the movie and book. Two main ones, that blew my mind. In the movie, the main fight at the end between the evil villain and good guys takes place at the Institute. A Safe haven, school and long stay hotel for those fighting demons. In the book however, it takes place at a Mental Institute. The location change befuddled me. The change seemed unnecessary. The other difference, BLEW MY MIND. The whole premise of the book and movie, was searching for a Cup. One of the Mortal Instruments. End of book, evil villain has cup. End of movie, good guys have the cup. Uh, wait… What? Or do they? The cup Valentine has, is suppose to be a replica. But is it really? If he has the real cup, and the good guys have the replica, then the movie did a horrible job of portraying that.

The last sequences of both the movie and the book were different, and yet they did not need to be. I know Hollywood has to make changes to films to make them better for the big screen. But this just seemed pointless and unnecessary. In the book, Valentine clearly has the cup. Why not just make that the same for the movie. Why leave it in limbo like that? I guess I am too much of a purist. If changes must be made for the big screen, make them subtle. Make them only when necessary. The books were already a hit. Why change a good thing? I guess this is why I can never see myself writing for Hollywood. They change too much. They change the unnecessary. Damn you Hollywood.

2 thoughts on “Movie vs Book: The Mortal Instruments City of Bones

    1. I am sorry you feel that way. But yes, it is subtle, but there is a gay man in the book who has a crush on one of the other male characters. May I ask why you feel movie producers are shoving homosexuality down your throat? What movies are you referring to?

Leave a Reply

