It’s Been Awhile

So, here lately I have been pulling old drafts to have posts, since my mind hasn’t been into writing lately.  Not quite sure what has been up, but there has been nothing coming out of my mind worth putting on paper.  I’m not sure there is even yet, but words wont come if I don’t at least try to put something here.  When words wont come, I read, but reading has not helped that much.  I haven’t really had time to read, well I have, but I haven’t been in the mood.  Which is also strange.

At the beginning of the year, I set a goal of 52 books to read in a year.  I went from being way ahead, to having less then 8 weeks to read 12 books.  I may have to re-read Harry Potter just to make my goal, but I feel like that is cheating.  I did just start two books, The Fellowship of the Ring, and Palimpsest.  Both interesting in their own rights.  One dealing with a hobbit, a ring, and a creepy ass eye.  The other a successful writer, living with his partner looking back on his life and questioning why he went into writing and not politics.  But both long books and going to take me a while to knock out.

Other than my lack of writing and reading life has been rather good.  Finally in a rent house I can call my own.  Bills are a little rough, but things will all work out.  Work has been boring, but good.  I’m still working out the kinks of the day to day 8-5 routine.  But I’m starting to get things in order.  I need to figure out a schedule that allows me to get my runs in and time to read/write plus make sure the girlfriend doesn’t feel neglected.  Not enough hours in the day, but I can make things work.  I need to make sure money issues don’t get to me.  My life is in a good place and stress wont help it.  I’ve got a good friend coming into town this weekend and it will be good to let loose and relax a bit.  This past weekend was a good relaxing one as well.  It found the girlfriend and I being a lazy couple, which was nice.

On Friday we started the weekend out right, with a play called Alcoholidays, which I would recommend to go and see if you are in the Oklahoma City area.  It is about a couple who have 4 Christmas Parties to go to, and are saved by alcohol.  One with each of the others family, a work party, then their chosen family, friends, for the final party.  After the show, we went home, she worked on homework, I did nothing.  Saturday was a fun filled day of going to the bank, hanging out with her family, then a nice dip in a hot tub with friends.  We planned for Saturday night to be a little more fun then just that, but cops busting kids in the apartment below us, ended our night sooner then we expected.  Luckily it let her get more homework done.  Then Sunday-Funday, which was filled with, you guessed it, her doing homework, me cleaning and trying to finish unpacking all my stuff.  Still not done by the way.  Overall, good weekend, all that was missing was a trip to a used bookstore and coffee shop.

This next weekend should be filled with a different kind of relaxing.  Cigars, scotch and football.  I’m excited to say the least.  Just got to make it through this week.  Luckily I have found a great way of passing the time at work when things get slow, Ted Talks.  I started a set of creative videos, but then got busy.  Hopefully I will be able to tackle the rest of the 6 videos throughout the week.  I’ve also got a goal to get a calendar up at the new place, and once I do, I’ll start putting up markers to remind myself to post.  Writers just write.  Whether it is good or bad, at the end of the day, they put words to paper.  Coherent words to blank paper.  It doesn’t matter what their mood, their schedule, writers find the time to write, so must I.

Leave a Reply

