Winter Has Finally Come

Summer is starting to really take off and I for one am excited.  I work too much, but it is what it is.  I know am able to use what free time I have to I recently started back up with a task I had began during the school semester, reading the Game of Thrones series.  I had finished the first book, as well as watched some of season one of the HBO series with the same name.  But being somewhat OCD when it comes to my books and television series, I had to start them over.  I am happy to say after a little less than a week, I have finished the first season of the show, as well as the first book.  It seems as though without school to stress about, I found the first book a much easier and more entertaining read.  I’ve just begun the second, and am two chapters in.  The series has really peaked my interest because Martin is writing a fantasy and yet, and times the world seems as though it could have once truly existed.  Even with the ideas of magic, and walking dead Martin’s characters feel as though they were once walking this world.  Even with the invention of the continents known as Westeros, Essos and Sothoryos.  This concept of year long summers followed by year long winters intrigues me.  The wall, beyond the wall, I am excited to see how it all evolves and comes together.  The character that has stood out the most to me has been Tyrion Lannister.  Not only because of his witty sense of humor, but also because he seems to have a grasp on the big picture.  I know I am late to the Thrones party, but I should be caught up by the end of the month.  I look forward to seeing where Martin takes me in this great, created world.

As well as reading the Game of Thrones series, I am also reading Hemingway’s In Our Time.  I am still trying to write, but it seems all my free time goes to either reading, the gf, or working out.  I just need more hours in the day, is that so much to ask for?

 

2 thoughts on “Winter Has Finally Come

Leave a Reply

