Update: To Grammar, or not too

So, I’m slowly realizing that I need to post more on here.  Two post in the span of 3 weeks isn’t the best.  I have drafts, but I have issues posting those straight here once I finish them.  I do not like posting until someone has read over and examined my grammar, and made sure it was, if not perfect, at least better then what I could ever do.  Here goes, Hi, my name is Jeremy, and I don’t know English grammar.  It’s not only that I don’t know it, I just don’t like the process of reviewing my own work.  I’m strange in that regard.  I tend to only re-write drafts for papers once, if at all.  I try to make it all flow and sound good the first time out, and then not make any corrections.  Or I have someone else make these corrections for me.  You can call me lazy, I am in this regard.  I don’t like worrying about grammar when I write.  I feel as though it takes away from the writing.  I’m sure that made some people cringe.  How can someone who writes say he hates grammar?  Well, pretty easy.  I HATE GRAMMAR.  I’m slowly getting better, I think.  Hopefully I am not getting any worse.  I should probably buy a book or two about proper grammar, maybe I will.  I use to keep a journal, and I still do, putting down the mundane boring of day-to-day stuff I do.  But I thought, maybe I should do an update on here once or twice a week.  Something small, nothing to deep.  Also, something I could post without having someone read it before I post it.  Any way, lets get on with the update.

I have finally broke down and started the job hunt, for real.  My resumes are done, I hope.  Today I have a couple cover letters looked over, then tomorrow I will submit the 6 jobs I have found on campus I believe I am qualified for.  Five IT positions, one position with the Athletic Department.  I also made it past the first round of Teach for America.  I have my phone interview this Sunday.  I am nervous about this, but I think it should go ok.  If all else fails, I have my night job to fall back on and go full time, until I can get a position somewhere else.  I hope to be able to keep this job as well once I start working full time for someone.  To say I am excited about graduation is an understatement.  I will be more excited once I have a job lined up, but until then, it is a nervous anticipation of excitement I will feel.

Money issues, are well, issues I think most people are going through.  There just isn’t enough to go around.  I wish I could say I am doing better about it, but I can’t.  I am doing better I think, but not as good as I would like to be doing.  I just want to pay off my bills and be debt free.  Not too much to ask for I think.  Credit cards, they get you every time.  Baby steps though right?  I will get them paid off one way or another, soon.

Classes are fairly easy this semester.  My only tough class is Latin, and even it is not that bad.  It has been nice, because I have been able to read for fun.  So far this year, I have read 26 books.  The goal was 52, I think I should change the goal.  Triple digits doesn’t seem out of the question.  I will start there, and see where I get too.  I am learning to balance a long, tough read out with shorter, simpler works.  I have reading ADD too on some books.  I can only read a few pages or chapters a day.  Other works though, once I start, I do not put the book down until it is finished.  Strange.  Some writers just have something that makes me not want to stop.  Not to say those that I can only read a few chapters a day aren’t good writers.  They are.  They are probably the better writers, I just try to put more effort into trying to understand their writing.  The one book I have know that is giving me issues is Player Piano by Kurt Vonnegut.  I am working through all of his works this year,  as well as Hunter S. Thompson.  Both of these men are such great writers, I want to give their books the time they deserve.  Once I reach the 30 book mark, I will give a list of what I have read thus far.

Well, there it is, my life.  Not much to speak of, even if I have left out details.  Do not expect much insight into my love life on here.  It is not going to happen.  There may be subtle hints, but that will be all.  Life is good at the moment.  I recently read The Stranger by Albert Camus.  I did a search for him after I finished and read a little about him, and some of his quotes.  I found one I really like.  It will be one of the few quotes I put up here that I do not elaborate on why I like it.  I hope this post finds you all well.  Have a good day.

“Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
― Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

