Making an Investment in Temptation

 The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it.  – Oscar Wilde

 I like where Mr. Wilde was going with this.  In a unique way, it makes sense to me.  Once one has experienced something, the temptation may go away, but one takes the risk of falling in deeper then expected.  Yielding to temptation though, has definitely gotten me into some trouble in the past– Between booze, women, and life in general. (Cue for sad country song here)  But seriously, it’s true. As I was saying, sometimes yielding to temptation could lead to things one never thought possible.  For some, it could mean being tempted to change his or her career paths to something completely different from their current one. Better yet, going back to school, getting married or getting divorced can fall into this category.

Temptation goes hand in hand with experience. Being tempted to do something once, might bring about a whole new way of seeing the world and other people.  Temptation however, may also lead to a sense negative spiraling.  Alcoholism, drug addiction, infidelity, stealing, jail… the list could go on and on.  Temptation comes in many different forms for many people.  You can’t just expect that every time you yield to temptation something good will come from it.  There’s bound to be bumps along the way, you’ve just got to make sure those bumps don’t put you down for the count.

The word yield means many things, but most people know it as either giving into something or a street sign while driving.  Yield also means a profit obtained from an investment.  Well, in this quote, I choose the latter.  I see my temptation as an investment, and from that investment I will surely gain something. Whether it be a negative or positive repercussion, it doesn’t matter.  Either outcome, I gain from it.  I learn, I adapt, and I grow.  In the end, isn’t that what we are all meant to do– Experience, learn, and grow?

Leave a Reply

